2005-2015 Nissan Frontier 4.0 l VQ40DE Engine Timing Marks

2005-2015 Nissan Frontier 4.0 VQ40DE Engine Timing Marks  – The Frontier, the average pickup of Nissan, was initially developed for the North American market but was also released in Europe under the name Nissan Navara. In Brazil, he debuted in the late 1990s and was the first product of Nissan being manufactured in the country, from 2002, in Sao Jose dos Pinhais-PR. The New Nissan Frontier has 2.5 turbo diesel engine and 190 horsepower (172 hp compared to the 2008 to 2011 model), the model began to be produced in Brazil in 2008.

In 2005 Nissan has introduced a new power unit, the largest of the entire family VQ. With a bore of 95.5 mm and a stroke of 92 mm, the unit VQ40DE reaches a displacement of 3954 cc. In practice, it is a version elongated stroke unit VQ35DE. As the flagship version of the VQ family, this engine was built using the best technical refinements. It has been improved the variable valve timing system, has been mounted an intake manifold of variable geometry, the cylinder liners and pistons have been revised to reduce friction and the crankshaft has been made hollow to reduce the mass.

2005-2015 Nissan Frontier 4.0 l VQ40DE Engine Timing Marks:

  1. Internal chain guide
  2. Camshaft sprocket (intake)
  3. Mating mark (blue link)
  4. Mating Mark (punched)
  5. Secondary timing chain tensioner
  6. Mating Mark (copper link)
  7. Secondary timing chain
  8. Camshaft sprocket (exhaust)
  9. Tensioner Guide
  10. Water pump
  11. Crankshaft sprocket
  12. Mating Mark (notched)
  13. Primary timing chain
  14. Slack guide
  15. Primary timing chain tensioner
  16. Mating mark (back side)
  17. Crankshaft Key

Note: The figure above shows the relationship between the mating mark on each timing chain and that on the corresponding sprocket, with the components installed. Mating marks between timing chain and sprockets slip easily. Confirm all mating mark positions repeatedly during the installation process.

For more details please watch the following video:

The diagram above applies to Nissan Frontier 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 year models. In addition, this engine is also applied to:

  • Nissan Pathfinder (2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015)
  • Suzuki Equator (2009 2010 2011 2012 2013)
  • Nissan NV1500 (2012 2013 2014 2015 2016)
  • Nissan NV2500 HD (2012 2013 2014 2015 2016)
  • Nissan NV Passenger (2012 2013 2014 2015 2016)

Hopefully, the article of 2005-2015 Nissan Frontier 4.0 l VQ40DE Engine Timing Marks useful for you.

(Visited 6,070 times, 8 visits today)
Tagged with: , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.